Mistakes I Made In My 20s & How to Avoid Them

If I could get through it, so can you.

Cassandra Rivera
6 min readSep 29, 2020
Photo by Yasin Yusuf on Unsplash

At last, I had cracked it! After four years of applying to Discovery Channel’s internship program, I had finally landed a spot among the fantastic 12 interns, beating out roughly 3,500 applicants.

That phone call was one of those beautiful moments where one doesn’t know whether to laugh or cry and after the fireworks started to subside all I remember hearing is the secretary on the other line asking me if I was still there.. and if I would rather complete my internship in Silverspring, Maryland or Los Angeles, Califonia.

At the time, I had just roughed my college experience in a little country town called, Canyon, Texas and by golly, all I could see at that point was this glamourous picture of the Hollywood sign and the possibility of meeting the then 19-year-old, Justin Bieber.

Without a second thought, I said, “LA, please”! After all, I wanted to work in television so why not dive into the big ole heart of it.

Expensive cities can cost you so much MORE than money

My parents and friends all tried to warn me saying things like, “wow, isn’t that expensive?”. Except for someone like me, I had this notion that if there is a will, there is…

--

--